Why I Chose This Sunset For My Blog Background

Back in the first week of October 2011, my wife and I went on an awesome vacation in which we experience all 4 seasons in just a week’s time.  In Shenandoah National Park in Virginia, heavy snow, ice and unseasonably cold temperatures challenged us as we tent camped in Waynesboro, VA.  Brrrr!!!  Then, the weather warmed slowly as we drove south along the 450+ mile long, 45 mph maximum speed Blue Ridge Parkway to the Great Smokies in Tennessee.  One of the highlights of the trip — besides getting a photo opportunity of an Elk at about 30 feet away — was at mile marker 451 on the Blue Ridge Parkway at Waterrock Knob.  Before turning in for the night in Maggie Valley, North Carolina, we waited for the sunset because my pre-trip research highly recommended this romantic spot for a sunset viewing.  Using my Canon EOS Rebel Ti that I purchased back in May 2005 and a Tamron Zoom Telephoto SP AF 200-500mm f/5-6.3 Di LD IF Autofocus Lens for Canon EOS, I clicked away trying different angles, views, and settings.

My customized background for this blog site is one of the many pictures I took that night in early October.  What I love about the photo is the:

  • Dark colors and the fading tree in the foreground;
  • Sun-drenched Maggie Valley, NC;
  • Mountain layering that adds another dimensions of color and contrast;
  • Bright orange sun ball in the middle of the photograph; and,
  • Orange fading into blue sky above.

So, as one of my favorite photos of the trip, it says a lot about me, namely, my love of nature and my goal to visit every national park in the U.S., the things I find most relaxing and inspiring in life, and this sacred memory shared with my best friend!  Here’s the photo.

Leave a Reply

